June 4, 2006
American mah-jongg (2006 NMJL card). Several "change of heart" questions have come up recently, so let's test your knowledge of the "change of heart" rules. In each of the following situations, is the player in question permitted to change her mind? Answers below.
1. Player had taken a tile into her hand and, now, lifting a tile to discard, says, "One b..." May she change her mind and discard a different tile?
2. Player had taken a tile into her hand, took a tile from her hand and now is resting a corner of it on the discard floor. She hasn't laid it down, hasn't yet let go of it, and has not yet said its name. May she change her mind and discard a different tile?
3. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "I want that." May she change her mind and not take it?
4. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "Take," as she picks up the tile. May she change her mind and put it back?
5. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "Call," as she exposes tiles from her hand. She's reaching for the discarded 1B but has not touched it yet. May she change her mind and not take it?
6. Player had changed her mind about taking a discard, and now an opponent is calling for the same discard. May player change her mind a second time and take it, pre-empting the second caller?
7. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "Maj." Nobody has done anything except maybe sigh
or swear a little. May she rescind the call?
8. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "Maj." Another throws in her tiles. Player has not taken the 1B or exposed her own tiles, and she realizes she's erred (her hand is not valid). May player rescind her Maj call?
9. 1B has been discarded, and player says, "Maj." She exposes a tile from her hand and realizes she was mistaken. May she rescind her Maj call?
10. Player has exposed a kong of three 1B and a flower. She hasn't discarded yet. May she take back F and replace it with 1B or J?
11. Player has exposed a kong of three 1B and a flower. She hasn't discarded yet. May she take back F and leave the pung of 1B exposed?
12. Player placed three tiles at her left and let go of them. Her left neighbor is reaching for them. May player say, "wait," stop her, and take them back?
1. Yes. 5. No. 9. No. 2. No. 6. No. 10. Yes. 3. Yes. 7. Yes. 11. Yes. 4. Yes. 8. No. 12. No. For a fuller understanding of the answers, see FAQ 19 at http://www.Sloperama.com/mjfaq.html, the yearly NMJL newsletter, and Mah Jongg Made Easy, published by the NMJL. Still have a question? Email me and I'll respond on the bulletin board.
Column #269
Answers:
Click the entries in the header frame, above, to read other columns.
Question about this column? See an error? Email and the discussion will be posted on the Mah-Jongg Q&A Bulletin Board.
Haven't ordered the 2006 NMJL card yet? Read FAQ 7i.
Need rules for American mah-jongg? Go to http://www.geocities.com/linfishr. AND see FAQ 19 for fine points of the American rules (and commonly misunderstood rules). AND get the booklet from the NMJL (see FAQ 3).
© 2006 Tom Sloper. All rights reserved.